Section L – Other Rules

TR CALL L1

Rule 43, Exoneration
D2.3, Penalties Initiated by an Umpire

Question

Approaching a windward mark, Y, on port tack, bears away to pass astern of B on starboard. Y is keeping clear when B’s crew suddenly pushes out her boom and backs her mainsail, and her boom hits Y’s rigging. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Y breaks rule 10, but is compelled to do so by the action of B that is a breach of sportsmanship. Penalize B under rule D2.3(g) and exonerate Y under rule 43.1(a).

(See also World Sailing Case 73 and call A4)

When a right-of-way boat continues to sail her course, but through a deliberate action that could have no other intention than to cause contact with a keep clear boat that would otherwise have kept clear, then this is a breach of sportsmanship.