Section D - The Windward Leg

TR CALL D8

Rule 13, While Tacking

Question 1

B has sailed Y, both on port, beyond the layline to the windward mark to let teammates overtake. Eventually B starts to tack and Y does likewise, so that they are both between head to wind and close-hauled on starboard at the same time.

Before reaching close-hauled on starboard, B brings her rig upright and hits the rig of Y. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Penalize B. Because both boats are subject to rule 13, B has to keep clear of Y.

Question 2

Would the answer be the same if the boats were further away from the mark?

Answer 2

Yes.