Section D - The Windward Leg

TR CALL D7

Rule 11, On the Same Tack; Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course

Question 1

B and Y, close-hauled on port tack, approach the starboard tack layline near the windward mark. Y is subject to rule 17. Both boats sail beyond the layline, and are clearly over-standing the mark. Y luffs and is then forced to bear away to avoid contact with B who has held her course. There is a protest. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Penalize B. When Y luffs it is clear that her proper course is to luff in order to tack towards the mark. Y gives B room to keep clear as required by rule 16.1. Y is then unable to sail her new course without the need to take avoiding action. B does not keep clear and breaks rule 11.

Question 2

What should the call be if due to shifty winds and/or rough seas it is not clear whether the boats are over-standing the mark?

Answer 2

Penalize both. It is not yet clear that Y's only proper course is on the other tack. Y breaks rule 17 when she sails above her proper course (close-hauled) without promptly sailing astern of B. If B could have responded to the luff and kept clear, but either did not respond or did not respond enough, she breaks rule 11.