Section C - The Start

TR CALL C4

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course

Question 1

Before the starting signal Y establishes an overlap to leeward of B from clear astern. After the starting signal both boats continue on starboard tack, and at all times B is keeping clear. About one minute after starting Y is beginning to draw ahead, although the boats are still overlapped. Y heels to windward and luffs above close-hauled. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Penalize Y. Y established her overlap from clear astern, and therefore breaks rule 17 by sailing above close-hauled after the starting signal. However, if Y heels to windward to slow B, without changing course, she breaks no rule.

Question 2

As a result of Y’s luff, the boats make contact. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer 2

If B could have responded to the luff and kept clear, but either did not respond or did not respond enough, she breaks rule 11 and Y breaks rule 17. Penalize both.

If B responds to the luff but is unable to avoid contact, then Y’s luff breaks both rule 16.1 and rule 17. Penalize Y only.