Section C - The Start

TR CALL C3

Rule 21, Starting Errors
Rule 23.2, Interfering with Another Boat

Question

After the start, B is sailing on port tack towards the pre-start side of the starting line without having started. Y has started correctly and bears away below her proper course onto a collision course with B. B gybes and keeps clear of Y. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y. At position 1, B is keeping clear of Y as required by rule 21.1. When Y bears away after position 1 she breaks rule 23.2 as she is no longer sailing her proper course and she interferes with B, a boat subject to rule 21.1.

After the starting signal, if a boat is sailing towards the pre-start side of the line, the umpires will use the principle of the ‘last point of certainty’ and decide the boat has not started, unless they are certain that she has started.