Section C - The Start

TR CALL C1

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Part 2, Section C, Preamble, When Rules do not Apply

Question

Before the starting signal Y establishes an overlap from clear astern to leeward of B and A. After the start Y luffs above close-hauled to pass the leeward starting mark. B immediately luffs to try to keep clear, but makes contact with team-mate A who is also trying to keep clear. A protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Rule 18 does not apply at a starting mark when boats are approaching it to start (Part 2 Section C Preamble). Because Y establishes the overlap from clear astern within two of her hull lengths, she may not sail above her proper course after the starting signal. (A boat has no proper course before the starting signal.) In this case Y’s proper course is to luff to pass the mark. Provided Y complies with rule 16.1 when she luffs, Y does not break a rule.

Rule 16.1 requires that, when Y changes course, she must give B and A room to keep clear. If A was keeping clear of B, but is now unable to do so because of B’s luff to keep clear of Y, then Y's alteration of course breaks rule 16.1. Penalize Y.

However, if A is so close to B that she is not keeping clear when Y starts to luff, or if A responds late or not enough when B changes course to keep clear of Y, then A fails to keep clear and breaks rule 11. Penalize A.

When a right-of-way boat subject to rule 16.1 changes course, she must give any other boat affected by this change of course room to keep clear.