Section B – The Prestart

TR CALL B9

Rule 21.3, Moving Astern

Question

Shortly before the start, B and Y are sailing ahead very slowly, Y half a length ahead of B. Y is in danger of crossing the starting line before the start and briefly backs her mainsail. This causes her to sail backwards toward B. She then stops backing her sail but continues to move backwards towards B. B maintains her position, and there is contact. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y.

Rule 21.3 requires a boat moving astern by backing a sail to keep clear of one that is not. Although Y is no longer backing her sail, she is moving astern because she backed her sail, and is still subject to rule 21.3. Y fails to keep clear and breaks rule 21.3.

A boat is 'moving astern by backing a sail' and therefore subject to rule 21.3 if she is moving astern through the water, and she initiated or assisted her sternwards motion by backing her sail. If she ceases to back the sail, but is still moving astern, she is still subject to the rule.