Section A - Definitions and Fundamentals

TR CALL A4

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 43, Exoneration
Rule D2.3, Penalties Initiated by an Umpire
Definitions, Keep Clear

Question

Y and B are small dinghies sailing to windward with a small gap between them. A squall hits the boats and Y’s crew leans out, touching B’s leeward gunwale with his body. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize B under rule 11. Boat Y does not change course. Y’s actions are consistent with seamanlike sailing in the existing conditions, and B fails to meet her obligations as keep clear boat.

If Y’s actions are inconsistent with seamanlike sailing in the existing conditions, and are solely designed to cause contact, penalize Y in accordance with rule D2.3(g) for a breach of sportsmanship and exonerate B under rule 43.1(a).

(See also World Sailing cases 73 and 74.)

A boat changes course when she changes her compass bearing. Leaning out, slowing, and heeling the boat are not changing course.