Section L - Other Rules

MR CALL L8

Rule C2.13 (23.3), Interfering with Another Boat

Question

Yellow and Blue are sailing in one match and Red and Green in another. Green meets Yellow on the course and Green is the right-of-way boat. Is it permissible for Green to change her course so that Yellow has no need to change course to keep clear?

Answer

Yes, provided that the change of course by Green is ‘consistent with complying with a rule or trying to win her own match.’

If Green clearly disadvantaged herself by her course change, then she would have broken rule C2.13 (23.3).