Section L - Other Rules
MR CALL L7
Rule C2.13 (23.3), Interfering with Another Boat
Rule C6.1(a), Protests and Requests for Redress by Boats
Question 1
Within the meaning of rule C2.13 (23.3), if Blue is sailing her proper course, is she
permitted to disadvantage Green in a different match?
Answer 1
Yes. When the umpires are satisfied that Blue sailed her proper course, this is
consistent with trying to win her own match, by definition, and breaks no rule.
If the umpires are satisfied that the boat's actions were not intended to help her in
her own match, but were intended to affect the results of the other match, then Blue
breaks rule 23.3. Green may display flag Y under rule C6.1(a).
Question 2
Approaching a leeward mark, Blue is close astern of Green, but they are racing in
different matches. Blue luffs to blanket Green, slows her down, and gains an inside
overlap. Green must therefore give mark-room to Blue and does so. Has Blue broken
rule 23.3?
Answer 2
No. Although Green is definitely disadvantaged by Blue's actions, Blue's actions
helped her to round the mark in the shortest possible time, and were therefore
‘consistent with ... trying to win her own match’. See Answer 1.