Section K - The Finish
MR CALL K6
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)), Giving Mark-Room (not overlapped)
Rule 21.2, Starting Errors; Taking Penalties; Backing A Sail
Rule 43.1, Exoneration
Rule C5.6, Signals by Umpires
Rule C7.4, Taking and Completing Penalties
Rule C8.3, Penalties Initiated by Umpires
Definitions, Mark-Room (rule C2.2) and Proper Course (rule
C2.3)
Question 1
Both boats are approaching the race committee vessel end of the finishing line.
Blue has an outstanding penalty. Blue reaches the zone clear ahead of Yellow.
Blue tacks onto port tack, gets to a close-hauled course and tacks back onto
starboard tack. At position 7, just before Blue reaches a course that is more than
ninety degrees from the true wind, there is contact between the boats and both
boats display flag Y. What should the call be?
Answer 1
The umpires shall act under rule C5.6 once Blue is no longer taking a penalty on port
tack. Signal that Blue has completed her penalty. Penalize Blue and Yellow at the
same time. Then signal a second penalty to Yellow.
When the contact happened, Blue was still taking her penalty. Not keeping clear of
another boat while taking a penalty does not make the penalty invalid, but it breaks
rule 21.2, so because there was a protest, Blue gets one penalty for that breach.
Throughout the incident Blue never leaves the zone, so she is entitled to mark-room
all the time.
Although Blue is not sailing a proper course while she is taking her penalty, markroom
is still the space she needs to sail her proper course, which is the course she
would sail to finish as soon as possible in the absence of Yellow. Yellow fails to
give her that space and breaks rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)). However, Blue is not
exonerated for breaking rule 21.2 by rule 43.1(b) (because rule 43.1(b) does not
include rules in Section D), or rule 43.1(a) (because Blue was not compelled to break
rule 21.2).
Because Yellow gained an advantage by breaking a rule after allowing for a penalty,
she also gets an umpire-initiated penalty under rule C8.3(a).
Question 2
The situation is the same as in Question 1, except that Blue does not complete her
tack onto port tack before tacking back onto starboard tack. What should the call be?
Answer 2
The umpires shall signal under rule C5.6 once Blue is no longer taking a penalty.
Penalize Yellow for not giving mark-room. Remove Blue’s penalty flag as the
penalties are now offset. Then signal a second penalty to Yellow.
Blue is no longer taking a penalty after position 5 (see rules C7.2(a)(2) and MR Call
N6).
From the time Blue starts luffing back towards starboard tack, she is sailing her
proper course to round or pass the mark. Yellow breaks rule 18.2(a)(2) by not giving
her mark-room, and Blue is exonerated for her breach of rule 11 by rule 43.1(b).
Because Yellow gained an advantage by breaking a rule after allowing for a penalty,
she also gets an umpire-initiated penalty.