Section J - The Leeward Mark

MR CALL J1

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)), Giving Mark-Room (not overlapped)
Rule C2.9 (18.3(b)), Tacking or Gybing
Definitions, Proper Course (rule C2.3)

Question 1

Yellow is approaching the leeward mark below the layline and is clear ahead of Blue at the zone. Very shortly thereafter Blue becomes overlapped outside and to windward of Yellow. At position 5 Blue displays flag Y. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Yellow is clear ahead when she enters the zone. Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)) applies and Blue must give her mark-room. When Blue becomes overlapped on the outside, she is required by rule 11 to keep clear of Yellow. Blue gives room and keeps clear.

From the moment the boats overlap until Yellow gybes, rule C2.9 (18.3(b)) also applies and requires Yellow, until she changes tack, to sail no farther from the mark than her proper course. The umpires must consider factors such as the type of boat, current, wind strength and waves to decide whether Yellow complies with this rule. If the umpires decide that Yellow does not sail farther from the mark than she would in the absence of Blue while rule 18.3(b) applies, display the green and white flag. If Yellow does sail farther from the mark than her proper course, Yellow breaks rule 18.3(b). If Yellow affects Blue’s course while she is breaking rule 18.3(b) , penalize Yellow. If not, display the green and white flag.

Question 2

Would the call be different if Yellow was having a problem lowering her spinnaker?

Answer 2

No. Neither the room that has to be given by Blue nor the course that must be sailed by Yellow is changed by unseamanlike boat handling.