Section G - The Leg of the Course to a Leeward Mark

MR CALL G3

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule C6.5(b), Umpire Decisions
Rule C7.2, All Penalties
Rule C8.3, Penalties Initiated by Umpires

Question 1

Blue is sailing to leeward of Yellow. Both boats have spinnakers set. Blue luffs Yellow. What are the obligations on Blue and Yellow?

Answer 1

If Blue could have kept clear but either responded too slowly or not enough, then Blue has broken rule 11. Penalize Blue.

If in addition the umpires are satisfied that Blue has broken a rule deliberately or has gained an advantage by breaking the rule after allowing for a penalty, they would give Blue a second penalty under rule C8.3. If the umpires were not satisfied that either of these conditions existed, but are satisfied that Blue gained a controlling position because of the breach, the umpires would give Blue a red-flag penalty under rule C6.5(b). See also MR Call M2.

Question 2

Would the answer be different if the Yellow had an outstanding penalty?

Answer 2

No. However, if Blue was given a red-flag penalty under rule C8.3, this would not offset Yellow’s outstanding penalty (see rule C7.2(e)). Blue would have to take her penalty as soon as reasonably possible under rule C7.3(d), and Yellow would still have an outstanding penalty.

Question 3

Would the answer be different if the boats are getting closer to the finishing line and Yellow has an outstanding penalty?

Answer 3

No. However, in this situation it is more likely that the conditions for a double penalty are met.

If a double penalty has been signalled to Blue, the first penalty will offset Yellow’s penalty (see rule C7.2(e)). Blue will not be recorded as finishing until she completes her second penalty and then finishes (see rule C7.2(d)).