Section E - The Windward Mark

MR CALL E10

Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)), Giving Mark-Room (overlapped)
Rule C2.9 (18.2(b)), Giving Mark-Room (rule re-applied)

Question

Blue and Yellow approach the windward mark on port tack with Blue overlapped to windward at the zone. The mark is to be rounded to starboard.

Instead of rounding the mark, both boats slow down and continue sailing to windward. At position 3 Yellow leaves the zone while clear ahead of Blue. Blue remains inside the zone.

As the boats bear away they become overlapped again, this time with Yellow overlapped outside Blue.

At position 5, flag Y is displayed by Yellow. What should the call be?

Answer

Display the green and white flag.

When Yellow first enters the zone overlapped inside Blue, she is entitled to markroom under rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)). However, Yellow’s entitlement to mark-room ceases at position 3 when she leaves the zone(see rule 18.2(b)). At this point the boats are not overlapped.

As Blue remains in the zone she is considered the first boat to reach the zone when rule 18.2(a) is re-applied. Blue is therefore entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(a)(2). Yellow gives mark-room to Blue.