Section E - The Windward Mark

MR CALL E9

Rule C2.9 (18.1), When Rule 18 Applies
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)), Giving Mark-Room (not overlapped)
Definitions, Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap

Question

Yellow enters the zone of a windward mark clear ahead of Blue, passes the mark and sails completely out of the zone. Yellow then completes a penalty just before position 3 and is on starboard tack on a course that is more than ninety degrees from the true wind. Blue on port tack is bearing away to round the windward mark.

Does rule C2.9 (18) apply between Yellow and Blue?

Answer

Yes. When Yellow first enters the zone clear ahead of Blue, she is entitled to markroom under rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)). Rule 18 ceased to apply when Yellow was on the next leg and the mark was astern of her (see rule C2.9 (18.1)).

When Yellow left the zone, the boats were not overlapped. As Blue remains in the zone she is considered the first boat to reach the zone when rule 18.2(a) is re-applied. Blue is therefore entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(a)(2).