Section E - The Windward Mark

MR CALL E7

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)), Giving Mark-Room (overlapped)
Rule C2.9 (18.3(b)), Tacking or Gybing
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration (room or mark-room)
Definitions , Mark-Room (rule C2.2) and Proper Course (rule C2.3)

Question 1

Yellow and Blue approach the windward mark on opposite tacks with Yellow on starboard. Yellow keeps on sailing on starboard beyond her proper course to round the mark before she passes head to wind. Yellow then bears away on her proper course to round the mark and Blue has to luff to give mark-room to Yellow. Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Display the green and white flag.

Yellow broke rule C2.9 (18.3(b)) when she sailed farther from the mark than needed to sail her proper course, however, she did not affect Blue's course during the time rule 18.3(b) applied. Therefore, she is exonerated by rule 18.3(b) for breaking that rule. Once Yellow passed head to wind rule 18.3(b) no longer applied.

By luffing up behind Yellow, Blue gave Yellow mark-room. No rules are broken.

Question 2

The situation starts as in Question 1, but after Yellow passes head to wind, Blue sails in between Yellow and the mark. When Yellow bears away to round the mark on her proper course there is contact between the boats. Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?

Answer 2

Penalize Blue.

Yellow was entitled to mark-room under rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)) and, from the moment she began luffing to round the mark, she was sailing her proper course to round the mark. Therefore, she is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) for her breach of rule 11. Blue failed to give Yellow mark-room as required by rule 18.2(a)(1).

Yellow broke rule 18.3(b) before she passed head to wind, but is not penalized for that breach (see Answer 1).