Section E - The Windward Mark

MR CALL E6

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
C2.6 (13.1), While Tacking or Gybing
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)), Giving Mark-Room (overlapped)
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration (room or mark-room)
Definitions , Mark-Room (rule C2.2)

Question

Blue and Yellow on starboard tack approach the windward mark, to be left to starboard, with Yellow overlapped on the inside of Blue at the zone. After passing the port-tack layline both boats luff head to wind. At position 3 Blue has given Yellow enough room to tack. Both boats continue forward with the gauge between the boats reducing until, before leaving the zone, Yellow passes head to wind. There is contact as Yellow’s stern swings. Both boats display flag Y. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Blue. When Yellow enters the zone overlapped on the inside of Blue, rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)) applies and requires Blue to thereafter give Yellow mark-room, which is room for Yellow to sail her proper course to round or pass the mark. When Yellow continues straight after position 3, she is not sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled. Rule 11 requires her to keep clear of Blue and she does so.

At position 5, while still in the zone, Yellow tacks which is her proper course, and Blue fails to give her room to do so. Blue breaks rule 18.2(a)(1). Because Yellow is sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) for breaking C2.6 (13.1).

Note: Rule C2.9 (18.3(b)) does not apply in positions 3 and 4, because Yellow is not the right-of-way boat.