Section A - Definitions and Fundamentals

MR CALL A4

Definitions, Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap
Definitions, Keep Clear

Question

When the spinnaker is not set, is a spinnaker pole in ‘normal position’

(i) when one end is attached to the mast and the other end is projecting beyond the bow, or
(ii) in the case of an extendable bowsprit-type pole, it is not retracted as fully as it can be
(a) when the spinnaker is, or is being, set up approaching or passing a mark?
(b) when hoisting or lowering the spinnaker?
(c) when beating to windward?
(d) during pre-start manoeuvres?

Answers

The general test when addressing these questions is ‘Is this how the boat would normally be sailed, in the absence of other boats?’ This leads to the following more specific answers:

(a) and (b), for both (i) and (ii):

Yes, if it is the regular practice for the pole to be in that position in the circumstances and the umpires are not of the opinion that the pole had been set up prematurely, or left in position too long, for the purpose of obtaining a tactical advantage (such as the establishment of an artificial overlap).

(c) and (d), for (i);

Yes, if it is the regular practice for that boat to carry her spinnaker pole in that position. It would not be regular practice if, for example, a boat had her spinnaker pole projecting during pre-start manoeuvres but then removed it for starting, or started without the pole projecting then later changed its position so that it was then projecting.

(c) and (d), for (ii): No.