Section A - Definitions and Fundamentals

MR CALL A3

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule C2.9 (18.1), When Rule 18 Applies
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)), Giving Mark-Room (overlapped)
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration (room or mark-room)

Question 1

Blue and Yellow are approaching a mark to be left to starboard. What is the latest time Blue may luff?

Answer 1

Rule C2.9 (18.1) begins to apply when any part of the hull of either boat is in the zone. From this moment, if Blue luffs and thereafter has to bear away in order to give Yellow mark-room, then Blue breaks rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)). Blue does not break rule 18.2(a)(1), if she is able to luff while giving mark-room. Yellow is required to keep clear under rule 11. However, she is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) if she, while sailing her proper course to round or pass the mark, breaks rule 11 because Blue fails to give her mark-room.

Question 2

If Blue has to bear away to give mark-room, when is she required to do so?

Answer 2

Blue is required to bear away promptly from the moment the first of the boats is in the zone.