Section M - The Umpiring Process

TR CALL M4

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room

Question

At a starboard-hand leeward mark, Y and B are sailing on a close reach, overlapped on starboard tack, when they reach the zone. A is approaching the mark on a beam reach, sailing faster but just clear astern of Y and B when they reach the zone.

B bears away which gives A room to round the mark inside her. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize B.

B is keep-clear boat with respect to Y, but Y must give her mark-room. Because A is clear astern when Y and B reach the zone, she must give mark-room to both B and Y.

In causing Y to give extra room for A to round inside her, B breaks rule 11.