Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J1

Rule 18.1, When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room

Question

B and Y are overlapped, broad reaching on port tack towards a leeward mark, which is to be left to port. Y has no proper course restriction, and is steering a course approximately 1½ lengths to windward of the mark. Y maintains her course until she is 1½ lengths from the mark, then gybes to give B mark-room. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y.

Rule 18 starts to apply when one of the boats enters the zone. From that moment Y must sail a course to give B mark-room. By maintaining her course to position 2, Y breaks rule 18.2(b).

It is not significant whether or not B hails for room.

A boat required to give mark-room is required to do so from the time rule 18 starts to apply.