Section H - The Gybe Mark

TR CALL H4

Rule 18.1, When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule 21.2, Taking a Penalty

Question 1

B on port tack is well ahead of Y and within two hull lengths of the mark, which is to be left to starboard. B then takes an anti-clockwise one-turn penalty. Shortly after B completes her penalty, Y is within the zone and has an inside overlap on B. Y hails for mark-room. B gives room and protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

No penalty.

When B passes head to wind between positions 2 and 3, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply (see rule 18.2(d)) and B is no longer entitled to mark-room. Furthermore, when B leaves the zone in position 3, neither boat is in the zone and rule 18 ceases to apply. While B is taking her penalty, she is subject to rule 21.2, and is keep-clear boat. Before position 4 the boats become overlapped and, when she completes her penalty at position 5, she remains keep-clear boat, now under rule 11. When the first of the boats then reaches the zone, rule 18 applies again and B, as the outside boat, is also required to give Y mark-room under rule 18.2(b).

Question 2

The situation is the same except that the mark is to be rounded to port. At position 5, B hails for mark-room. Y gives mark-room and protests. What should the call be?

Answer 2

No penalty.

The boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone. Rule 18.2(b) applies, and Y must give B mark-room.