Section H - The Gybe Mark

TR CALL H2

Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule 31, Touching a Mark
Rule 43, Exoneration

Question

Three boats B, X, and Y are approaching an off-wind mark to be left to starboard. The proper course after the mark is a broad reach on port tack. Rule 17 does not apply to B. When B reaches the zone, Y is clear astern. When Y is alongside the mark, B bears away and gybes to prevent Y from passing between her and the mark. Y touches B and the mark and protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize B.

When B reaches the zone she is clear ahead of Y who is required thereafter to give B mark-room. When Y establishes an inside overlap, she shall also give B room to sail her proper course. Y does so and does not break rule 18.2(b) or (c).

When B gybes she must initially give Y room to keep clear; she fails to do so and breaks rule 15. After position 4, B is not entitled to exoneration under rule 43.1(b) because she is no longer sailing her proper course or within the mark-room to which she is entitled. Y breaks rules 10 and 31. As she is sailing within the room to which she is entitled from B under rule 15, she is exonerated under rule 43.1(b).