Section G – The Run

TR CALL G8

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Definitions, Room

Question

Two keelboats B and Y are overlapped on a run with spinnakers set. Rule 17 does not apply. B luffs continuously and Y keeps clear by luffing. When Y is no longer able to keep the majority of her spinnaker filled and drawing, she holds course and drops her spinnaker. While she does so, B bears away to avoid contact and protests. There is no contact. What should the call be?

Answer

No penalty.

When B changes course, rule 16.1 requires her to give Y room to keep clear, which includes space to manoeuvre promptly in a seamanlike way. After position 3, Y needs to drop her spinnaker to continue manoeuvring in a seamanlike way. At position 4, B complies with rule 16.1 by bearing away to give Y room to keep clear.

This answer also applies if B has no spinnaker set, or a different type of spinnaker set.

See also Call A3.

Room for a windward boat to keep clear includes room to drop her spinnaker when it is seamanlike to do so. This will depend on factors such as wind strength, size and shape of spinnaker.