Section G – The Run

TR CALL G6

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Rule 19, Room to Pass an Obstruction

Question 1

B and X are overlapped on port tack on a downwind leg. B is subject to rule 17. Both boats are on collision course with Y on starboard tack. X hails for room to gybe but B luffs to pass astern of Y, which is a proper course for B. X keeps clear and protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

No penalty.

Rule 19 applies between boats at an obstruction. The right-of-way boat may choose to pass an obstruction on either side. X must keep clear of B, and B must not sail above her proper course. X keeps clear of B and gives her room while she does so.

Question 2

How close to the obstruction can B be before she makes her choice?

Answer 2

If B chooses to luff, she must be far enough from Y to keep clear of Y and enable X to keep clear of both B and Y. See also call L10.

If B chooses to gybe, she must be far enough from Y to give X room under rule 19.2(b) to pass on the same side of Y.