Section F - Reaching

TR CALL F4

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course

Question

B and Y are reaching, both above their proper courses. They are overlapped and Y is entitled to sail above her proper course. B luffs, trying to become clear ahead. Then, believing (wrongly) she is clear ahead, she hails 'Clear Ahead'. Y bears away to a proper course and protests. What should the call be?

Answer

No penalty. B's hail of what she believes to be true does not carry any significance within the rules. Because B has failed to become clear ahead, Y is under no obligation to bear away to a proper course.

If Y does not bear away, then B may protest; in the above circumstances the umpires would again signal no penalty.

If B were to bear away and cause contact, then she would break rule 11 whether or not her luff had broken the overlap.