Section E - The Windward Mark

TR CALL E15

Rule 18.3, Passing Head to Wind in the Zone
Rule 23.2, Interfering with Another Boat

Question

Three boats are approaching a port-hand windward mark. X tacks inside the zone and to leeward of boat B. Both boats continue sailing a close-hauled course. After passing the mark, X luffs B to allow team-mate Y to round the mark inside of B. B keeps clear and protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize X and consider further action under rule D2.3(c).

When X passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone and is then fetching the mark, she is on the same tack as B who has been on starboard tack since entering the zone. Therefore rule 18.3 applies between them. After both boats have passed the mark, X luffs and causes B to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact. Although rule 17 does not apply to X, she breaks rule 18.3 which applies as long as one of the two boats is still in the zone.