Section E - The Windward Mark

TR CALL E6

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 12, On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room

Question 1

Y is approaching a starboard-hand windward mark on port tack, and completes a tack within the zone clear ahead of B. After Y is on a close-hauled course B bears away to avoid her. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

No penalty.

Y completes her tack at position 3 without breaking rules 13 or 15. Y becomes clear ahead, and B is required by rule 12 to keep clear, which she does.

Question 2

Y is approaching a starboard-hand windward mark on port tack. Y passes head to wind in the zone, becomes clear ahead of B and then immediately overlapped to windward of her. B is on the layline, and does not give Y mark-room, forcing Y to pass the wrong side of the mark. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer 2

B has right of way throughout but, when the boats become overlapped while Y is subject to rule 13, rule 18.2(a) requires B to give Y mark-room provided she is able to do so from the time the overlap began. See rule 18.2(f).

If B is able to give mark-room after Y becomes overlapped, as shown in the diagram, penalize B for breaking rule 18.2(a).

If B is unable to give mark-room, rule 18.2(f) applies and B does not break any rule. Y is required by rule 11 to keep clear which she does. No penalty.