Section B – The Prestart

TR CALL B6

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way

Question

Before the start Y and B, reaching on starboard tack, approach an anchored boat. When Y reaches the anchored boat, she is clear ahead of B. Y passes to windward of it, bears away alongside it, then gybes in order to sail around its stern. Very soon after Y gybes, B is still on starboard and gains a small inside overlap. B changes course trying to avoid contact with Y but there is contact. There is a protest. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y.

When Y gybes in position 2, she gives up right-of-way. Therefore rule 15 does not apply. In position 3 Y fails to keep clear of B and breaks rule 10.