Section B – The Prestart

TR CALL B3

Rule 12, On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped
Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way
Rule 16.1, Changing Course

Question 1

Before the start, B and Y are both on port tack, with B clear astern of Y. As Y bears away to gybe, B also bears away onto a course that will become a collision course if Y bears away further. At no time during the manoeuvre are the boats overlapped. Y luffs and protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

No penalty. As right-of-way boat Y is required to give B room to keep clear when she changes course. B is required to keep clear, so she must not prevent Y from sailing in the direction she is pointing. At position 3 B is keeping clear, but her actions are preventing Y from bearing away further. Neither boat breaks a rule.

Question 2

If an overlap is established just after position 3, does the situation change?

Answer 2

Just after position 3, B becomes right-of-way boat at least in part because of Y’s actions. Therefore, provided she maintains her course, B does not initially need to give Y room to keep clear. As Y keeps clear she breaks no rule. No penalty.