Section P - Protests and Penalties

RS CALL P6

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 21.2, Taking Penalties
Rule 44.2, One-Turn and Two-Turn Penalties

Whilst a boat is attempting to get clear to take a penalty, if she has right-of-way over another boat, then the other boat shall keep clear.

Assumed Facts

A group of boats are close-hauled on starboard tack. X has clearly indicated that she intends to take a penalty. X luffs, obliging W, overlapped to windward of X, to change course to avoid contact.

When informed by the race committee of the unresolved incident, the competitor controlling A says that his boat touched the mark because the leeward boat, B, did not give her mark-room. He states that he did not believe A was required either to take a penalty or to protest the other boat.

Question 1

Has X broken a rule?

Answer 1

No. W was overlapped to windward of X. Until X was clearly turning to take her penalty, rule 21.2 does not begin to apply and W was required to keep clear of X (rule 11).

X was required by rule 44.2 to get well clear of all other boats as soon as possible. By luffing, X was getting clear of three other boats.

Question 2

What must X do next?

Answer 2

X must get clear of W as soon as possible. She can do this by slowing, stopping or bearing away. Continuing to sail on the same course at the same speed, thereby interfering with W, would not be a ttempting to get well clear.