Section B – Boat on boat

RS CALL B2

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 13, While Tacking
Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way
Rule 18.3, Passing Head to Wind in the Zone
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration
Rule E4.3, Taking a Penalty

When a boat in the zone of a mark to be left to port passes head to wind from port to starboard and is then fetching the mark, her obligations under rule 18.3 apply between her and all other boats that have been on starboard since entering the zone.

When a boat has gained an advantage by her breach of a rule despite taking a penalty, she shall take additional One-Turn Penalties until her advantage is lost.

Assumed Facts

At a windward mark to be left to port, P enters the zone on port, luffs, passes head to wind and bears away onto a close-hauled course to leeward of A. B and C are both overlapped to windward of A. A, B and C are all on starboard as they enter the zone.

A avoids P by luffing. B luffs to windward of both P and A. C luffs to windward of B and, in doing so, sails above a close-hauled course.

Question 1

Which rules apply?

Answer 1

When P passed head to wind from port to starboard rule 18.3 applies and rule 18.2 does not. As P is not entitled to mark-room rule 43.1(b), exoneration, does not apply.

Until P reached a close-hauled course, rule 13 applied and she was obliged to keep clear of A, B and C. When P reached a close hauled course she was overlapped to leeward of A, B and C, and acquires right of way. P is required under rule 15, initially, to give A, B and C room to keep clear and she does so.

However, C was obliged to luff above close-hauled to avoid contact with B, who was obliged to luff to avoid A, who luffed to avoid P. Thus, P caused C to sail above close-hauled when taking avoiding action. P broke rule 18.3 and should take a penalty.

Question 2

Having taken a One-Turn Penalty, P is still some distance ahead of B and C. Should P take an additional One-Turn Penalty?

Answer 2

P is ahead of B and C as a consequence of breaking rule 18.3, P has gained an advantage in the heat by her breach, despite taking a penalty. P should take additional One-Turn Penalties until her advantage is lost, as required by rule E4.3(b). Therefore, the applicable penalty for her breach of rule 18.3 may be to take multiple turns. See also Call P4.

However, penalty turns are not an applicable penalty for some breaches through which a boat gained an advantage. Under rule E4.3(c), when a boat causes serious damage or, by breaking a rule of Part 2, she causes another boat to become disabled (as defined in rule E1.1) and retire, her penalty shall be to retire.