Section N - Protests and Penalties

MR CALL N10

Rule 28.1, Sailing the Race
Rule C6.6(b)(3), Protest Committee Decisions
Definitions, Sail the Course

Question

As Yellow and Blue approach the leeward mark, the race committee signals a change of position of the windward mark. Both boats round the leeward mark and sail to the original windward mark, round it and finish. Neither boat rounded the new windward mark.

The race committee protests both boats for breaking rule 28.1.

The protest committee finds that both boats broke rule 28.1 as neither sailed the course correctly. How should the match be scored?

Answer

Unless there is evidence to the contrary, the protest committee should find that the breach of the rule has had no significant effect on the outcome of the match and decide that the boats should be scored in their finishing positions. See rule C6.6(b)(3).

Note: The race committee should normally only protest when there is either a breach of a sailing instruction or technical rule that cannot be protested by a boat. See World Sailing Race Management Policies for Match Racing. The race committee should simply score the boats in their finishing places.