Section D - The Leg of the Course to a Windward Mark

MR CALL D4

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 11,On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 12, On the Same Tack, not Overlapped
Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration (room or mark-room)


Question 1

Yellow and Blue are on a beat to windward with Yellow on starboard tack and Blue on port tack. Yellow passes head to wind and completes a tack clear ahead and slightly to windward of Blue’s course line. Her tack slows Yellow down, and Blue creates an overlap to leeward, without either boat changing course. The separation between the boats is only a few centimetres. Yellow luffs to keep clear and there is immediately contact. Both boats display flag Y. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Blue has no need to alter course before Yellow completes her tack. After Yellow completes her tack Blue has room to keep clear by bearing away if needed, so Yellow fulfils her obligation under rule 15 to initially give Blue room to keep clear. When Blue shortly thereafter acquires right of way by establishing a leeward overlap, Blue must give Yellow room to keep clear under rule 15.

If, when the overlap is established, Yellow makes every effort to keep clear but is unable to do so, then Blue breaks rule 15. Yellow breaks rule 11 but is exonerated by rule 43.1(b). Penalize Blue.

However, if Yellow does not make every effort to keep clear and Blue, after initially giving room, is then required to take avoiding action or there is contact, then Yellow breaks rule 11. Penalize Yellow.

Question 2

Would the answer be different if Yellow completed the tack clear ahead and further to windward, but was moving forward at slower speed than Blue and slipping sideways reducing the separation between Blue and Yellow.

Answer 2

No