Section D - The Leg of the Course to a Windward Mark
MR CALL D1
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Definitions, Keep Clear
Definitions, Room
Question 1
Shortly after the start Yellow and Blue are close-hauled on port tack. The boats are
overlapped and Yellow is keeping clear to windward. As the boats pass to leeward
of mark L, an inflatable buoy that is not a mark on this leg, Blue luffs and Yellow
responds. Yellow stops luffing when she hits the mark amidships, which causes Blue
to curtail her luff. Both boats display flag Y. What should the call be?
Answer 1
Penalize Blue. When Blue, the right-of-way boat, changes course she has to give
room according to rule 16.1. It is not seamanlike to hit a mark.
Because mark L is not a mark on this leg, rules 18 and 31 do not apply.
Question 2
Would the answer be the same if the boats were passing to leeward of an object that
was not big enough to rank as an obstruction, but nevertheless limited her ability to
respond and/or could cause damage to the hull or foils?
Answer 2
Yes. Provided Yellow was initially keeping clear, Blue must give her room to
respond in a seamanlike way when she changes course.