Section C - The Start
MR CALL C1
Rule C2.5 (7), Last Point of Certainty
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Section C, At Marks and Obstructions: Preamble
Rule 19.2(b), Giving Room at an Obstruction
Question 1
Blue and Yellow are approaching the race committee vessel end of the starting line.
How do the umpires decide if they are approaching a starting mark to start?
Answer 1
In each of Diagrams a, b, and c the boats may be approaching a starting mark to start.
The umpires will use the speed and course of the boats in the prevailing conditions
and the time remaining before the starting signal to decide if they are approaching a
starting mark to start. Since match race starting lines are short, the boats may even
be approaching the far end (Diagram b). However, until both umpires agree that the
boats are approaching to start, they will decide that they are not (see rule C2.5 (7)).
Question 2
Before starting Blue and Yellow are on the course side of the starting line sailing a
course that is more than ninety degrees from the true wind on port tack. Blue gives
room for Yellow to pass the race committee vessel. Flag Y is displayed. What should
the call be?
Answer 2
Display the green and white flag.
A boat cannot be approaching a mark to start until approaching to pass the mark on
the required side. At position 1, Yellow was entitled to room under rule 19.2(b),
which was given. This also applies when both boats have been recalled.