Section B - The Prestart

MR CALL B11

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule C2.6 (13.1), While Tacking or Gybing
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration (room or mark-room)


Question 1

Before the start Yellow and Blue are separated and not on a collision course. Blue intends to tack but after passing head to wind she loses way. Before Blue gets to a close-hauled course, Yellow bears away towards Blue. Blue is unable to take any avoiding action that would prevent a collision if Yellow were to stop bearing away. However, Yellow continues to bear away and passes astern of Blue. Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Display the green and white flag. Yellow's change of course required her to give Blue room to keep clear under rule 16.1 and Yellow complies by bearing away continuously. Blue is sailing within the room to which she is entitled under rule 16.1, and is therefore exonerated by rule 43.1(b) for her breach of rule 10. The same answer would apply if Blue had succeeded in completing her tack and lost way.

Question 2

Would the answer change if Blue's helmsman had intentionally handled his boat so as to lose steerage and to place it in a situation where it would not be possible to keep clear if Yellow should change to a collision course?

Answer 2

No. No rule prohibits Blue from being in the position she was in here, whether or not she does so deliberately.