Section B - The Prestart

MR CALL B9

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule C2.11 (21.3), Backing a Sail (deleted)

Question 1

Initially both boats are stationary on starboard tack, but then start moving astern by backing their mainsails.

From position 2, Blue pushes harder on her mainsail and at the same time sculls forcefully on the windward side to make the boat move rapidly sideways (crabbing). Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Rule 21.3 regarding moving astern or sideways through the water does not apply (see rule C2.11). However, when Blue, the right-of-way boat, begins travelling to windward between position 2 and 3, she is changing course and must give Yellow room to keep clear under rule 16.1.

If, when Blue begins crabbing, Yellow immediately responds and continues to do all she can to keep clear (including crabbing to windward herself) but is unable to keep clear, then Blue is not giving Yellow room to keep clear and breaks rule 16.1. Penalize Blue.

If Yellow could have kept clear, but either responded too slowly or not enough, then Yellow has broken rule 11. Penalize Yellow.

Question 2

Would the answer be different if Blue began crabbing from her stationary position 1?

Answer 2

No