Section B - The Prestart

MR CALL B3

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way

Question

Blue establishes an overlap from clear astern. Yellow luffs immediately, and her stern hits Blue. Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?

Answer

Rule 11 required Yellow to keep clear and rule 15 required Blue to initially give Yellow room to keep clear.

If Yellow luffed so that she did not take unnecessary room (see World Sailing Case 24), then Blue broke rule 15. Penalize Blue.

If Yellow clearly took more room than was necessary, then Yellow broke rule 11. Penalize Yellow.