Section B - The Prestart

MR CALL B1

Rule C4, Requirements Before the Start

Question 1

Blue is not outside her assigned end of the starting line at the preparatory signal. As a result, Yellow is able to prevent her from crossing the line within the two-minute period. Blue did not cross the line from the course side before starting. What should the umpires do?

Answer 1

Penalize Blue twice. One is for breaking rule C4.1, because she was not outside her assigned end; the other is for breaking rule C4.2, because she did not cross the line from the course side within the two-minute period. These rules were broken in two separate incidents, and therefore each requires a penalty.

Question 2

If a boat has not crossed within the two-minute period, is she still obligated to cross before starting?

Answer 2

No. Although she has broken rule C4.2, there is no requirement that she cross the line after the two-minute period has ended.